The Geographical area of Srikakulam District is 5837 Sq.Kms. of which Scheduled area covers 218.89 Sq.Kms. which accounts to 3.75% of total Geographical area of the District.
            The ITDA, Seethampeta in Srikakulam District came into existence on 1-4-79 as successor body to G.D.A. Since 1.8.1985 the ITDA, Srikakulam is functioning with its head quarters at Seethampeta.  The operational area of the ITDA extends over agency area, Sub-Plan, MADA areas in Srikakulam District comprising 20 Mandals.



Geographical area of the District

5837 Sq.Kms


Geographical area of the ITDA

819 Sq.Kms


Scheduled area of ITDA (16 Panchayts in Seethampeta Mandal)

218.89 Sq.Kms


Total population of the District (2011 Census)



Tribal population in I.T.D.A



Tribal Families in ITDA.



No.of  Scheduled Mandals in ITDA  & Population  of Sch.Area

1            38176


No.of Mandals in ITDA including MADA mandals & Tribal Population(Non-Scheduled area)

20        111855


No of PVTG Mandals & Tribal Population

8           36400


No of DTG Mandals & Tribal Population

18          16087


No.of ST Habatations in ITDA



No of Revenue Villages in Scheduled Area



No of habitations in Scheduled Area



Total No of PVTG habitations



            The total population of the district as per 2011census is 27,03,114 of which tribal population is 1,66,118  which accounts to 6.15% of the total population of the district.
            The Scheduled area of Seethampeta Mandal consists of 16 panchayats out of 24 panchayats and 108 scheduled villages (comprising 324 Habitations) out of 118 total villages.  The Population of tribals inhabiting in these 16 panchayats is 38176.  The total Pupulation of Tribals in Seethampeta Mandal is 50747.
            Totally the I.T.D.A., Seethampeta consists 20 TSP Mandals.  The details are as follows:-

  1. Scheduled Mandals    :1
  2. Mada Mandals               : 4
  3. T.S.P. Mandals               : 15

             The living conditions of the tribals of MADA and Sub Plan mandals are similar to that of tribals living in the notified agency area.  The Population of the tribals living outside scheduled area in 19 mandals is 99,284 as per 2011 census.  There are dispersed tribal groups spread over in other 18 Mandals of the district and their population is 16,087 according to 2011 census, out of 1, 66,118 total population in the district.
Jathapu, Konda Savara, Kapu Savara, Maliya Savara, Yerukala and Gadaba comprise the main tribes in the district.   Konda Savaras and Gadaba are considered as Particularly Vulnerable Tribal Groups (PVTGs).  They are called PVTGs because of low level of literacy, and still adopting Primitive Agricultural practices.  They are given preferential treatment in the developmental activities because of their backwardness.  The causes of backwardness of tribals are exploitation and illiteracy.  Konda Savara speak their own Savara dialect besides Telugu.  Konda savaras live in interior villages and on hill tops.  The main occupation of the tribal people in the scheduled area is Agriculture, Horticulture and collection of minor forest produce.
            Podu shifting cultivation is reduced drastically and is replaced by plantation of Cashew, Mango, Pineapple and turmeric.  In places where shifting cultivation is still in practice, cultivation of crops viz Jowar, Bajra, Korra, Sama and Redgram are taking up as mixed crops and harvest one after another as and when the crop ripen for harvest.  They are also cultivating paddy in wet land and in valleys.  The tribal people are gradually changing from their traditional food habits and eating rice.

Classification of Tribal area:

  1. Scheduled Areas :

In view of the geographical and sociological vulnerability, these areas have to be administered with the special provisions.  These special provisions have been incorporated in “Fifth Schedule” of Indian constitution.  Hence, these areas are since then referred to as ‘Scheduled Areas’.

Under ITDA Seethampeta jurisdiction 16 Grama Panchayaths in Seethampeta Mandal notified as Scheduled Area.

  1. Tribal Sub-Plan Areas (T.S.P):

        Some areas, where there is substantial population of  Tribals and have been left out of Scheduled Areas have been classified as Tribal Sub-Plan Areas.

Under ITDA Seethampeta jurisdiction the following 16 Mandals classified as Tribal Sub Plan area.

  1. Seethampeta (8 Grama Panchayaths only which were not notified under Scheduled area), 2) Kotturu, 3) Bhamini,  4) Hiramandalam, 5) Pathapatnam,           6) Meliaputti, 7) Nandigam,  8) Tekkali, 9) Saravakota, 10) LN Peta, 11) Sarubujjili, 12) Burja,      13)  Jalumuru, 14) Palakonda, 15) Veeraghattam and 16) Laveru
  1. Modified Area Development Approach (M A D A):

Tribal pockets with pockets of concentrated tribal population  are   developed   under   Modified  Area  Development   Approach (M.A.D.A)  and  separate  funds  are allocated to this area for development.

Under ITDA Seethampeta jurisdiction the following 04 Mandals classified as MADA area. 1) Mandasa, 2) Palasa, 3) Kanchili, 4) Sompeta

  1. Dispersed Tribal Groups (D T Gs) :

        Areas   where   Tribal    Groups   are     dispersed   with   low concentration of tribal population, generally comprising of 5 to 10 families   are   classified   as   Dispersed   Tribal   Groups  (DTGs).  Separate funds allocated to these tribes for development.

Under ITDA Seethampeta jurisdiction the following 18 Mandals classified as DTG area. 1) Ichapuram  2) Kaviti, 3) Vajarapukotturu, 4) Kotabommali,           5) Santa Bommali, 6) Narasannapeta, 7) Polaki, 8) Srikakulam, 9) Gara, 10) Etcherla, 11) Ranastalam, 12) Ponduru, 13) G Sigadam, 14) Rajam, 15) Santa Kaviti, 16) Vangara, 17) Regidi Amudalavasala and 18) Amudalavalasa

Based on the primitiveness, the Tribes are broadly classified into two (2)   groups: -

      1.  P.V.T.G. (Particularly Vulnerable Tribal Groups SAVARA and GADABA)